New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

Jerry
human power supergeek

USA
1508 Posts

Posted - 03/11/2020 :  08:14:25  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If I can get healthy enough I plan on driving to my old home town of Brunswick, GA in September to visit relatives. After visiting there I will turn north and visit friends and relatives in Savannah, GA where I graduated high school and went to college.

I'll start the actual tour from Brunswick and follow mostly these two guys route to Alexandria, LA. From there I will use the Southern Tier to Austin, TX and find my own route from Austin to home.
http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/page/?o=1mr&page_id=405642&v=33

I plan on staying with Warm Showers and Couch Surfing hosts and motels. Some nights I might have to wild camp. This will be my first light weight tour. Light weight summer tent and air pad, down blanket instead of sleeping bag. I will carry my little soda can stove for coffee and oatmeal. It weighs in at less than an oz. Runs off of Alcohol & Heet. I will eat out mostly and stop at grocery stores for fruit and misc.

Since I will be in the velomobile I plan on 100 or more miles per day. That is if I am in good enough shape by then. I am pretty weak still from my 2 massive heart attacks and 3 way bypass with all the complications. Spent 28 days in Cardiac Intensive Care. I have lost right at 50 pounds. My right lung collapsed and filled with fluid and solid crap. Just now after two months getting it close to normal. They drained it 4 times but walking and breathing exercises is finally getting it right. I had other complications but I will not dive into them. Too much to write and bore people with.